RSS Feed

Growing Up Nigger Rich

Gwendoline Y Fortune

I would like to share with you a novel that I have written and published. It is one of three novels that I have written and published.

GROWING UP NIGGER RICH
By Gwendoline Y. Fortune

Click on Image to Purchase

An intricately crafted novel of homecoming and the South.

Born to a family of relative privilege, Gayla Tyner is everything that defines the “upper class.” She grew up as a daughter of medical professionals, possessors of education and property. In protected places, she was special, a young woman of poise and intellect. In other places, she found she was “just a nigger,” an African-American female who was viewed as one who put on airs, the subject of envy and ostracism: she was “nigger rich.” As an adult, Gayla is haunted by the South, what it means, has meant, and what is becoming. A professor at a major university in Michigan, the daughter of a prominent M.D., a dutiful wife and mother, she seems to have everything going for her. Memories of her past haunt her as she struggles to find her place as professor, mother, wife, and daughter. Nothing is as simple as black and white.

Selections from Growing Up Nigger Rich placed in the top twelve entries of the annual Pirate’s Alley Faulkner Society competition and second place in the National Black Writers’ Conference Awards.

About Gwendoline Y. Fortune

Gwen Fortune was born in Texas, reared in South Carolina, entered Bennett College at age 15, and has been an "academic tramp" ever since She lived in Chicago and Skokie, IL during marriage, family and first career. Academic degrees are BA, MS, M. Ph, and Ed. D. She was tenured professor of History at Oakton Community College, consultant in Ethnic Studies at Loyhola U, and exchange professor at College of Lake County. She began writing professionally after divorce, and has devoted her time to fiction, non-fiction and poetry. Her published historical novels are Growing Up Nigger Rich and Family Lines. She writes daily, reflecting on socio-economic-political and multi-racial/cultural ideas. She loves mental challenge and her three extraordinary granddaughters. Why this blog? I am a "political animal." I view human interactions as political exchanges. What does one person, or one nation, offer, and what does the other person, or nation, receive? What seems to be gained, and/or lost, and WHY? I comment of what comes to awareness and share observations and thoughts. We discuss--without rancor, ridicule or nastiness-or we part company. Mind-emotion and essence-spirit are invited to participate. The cue is in the post.

3 responses »

  1. Hi Gwendoline, I just started reading your book and couldn’t put it down. It is absolutely wonderful!!!!!!!!!!!!! Are you still doing this blog or is there a better way to connect with you personally, not thru facebook (I hate facebook). I stumbled across your book when I inherited just under 800k from my father when he died. Someone called me “nigger rich” and I looked it up on the web and your book was there. I am glad that out of that nasty comment someone made as a joke came the finding of you and your book. I would love to write to you, but want to be sure you get the emails. I have some things I would like to get your opinion on. Again, I am so glad I have the opportunity to email you, and that the opportunity to find out about you and your book came my way. Hope all is well with you. I live in rural Wisconsin. Thanks and I hope you are still writing away!!!
    Sincerely,
    Angus Edyburn
    Merrill, WI

    Reply

Leave a Reply

